• Home

    Saint Joseph Melkite Greek-Catholic Church, Scranton, PA, is a local parish of the Melkite Eparchy of Newton.

    CELEBRATING 124 YEARS IN SCRANTON in 2020.    We are one of the three oldest churches in our Eparchy .

    Founded by Lebanese immigrants in the late 1890s, we are a faith community that has withstood many trials and tribulations. Today we continue to witness to the Gospel of Our Lord God and Savior Jesus Christ throughout Northeastern Pennsylvania: concentrated in the Lackawanna Valley.  Our faithful parishioners and friends hail from Albany to Philadelphia and areas surrounding.

    Patriarchate of Antioch. Catholic but not Roman, Byzantine in Tradition, brothers and sisters of the Orthodox East.

    Visit the Eparchy of Newton website at    www.Melkite.org for more information!

     

    Praying the Divine Liturgy at home

    Links for those parishes that will be broadcasting their Sunday Divine Liturgy:

    • Holy Cross in Placentia, CA will record their parish Sunday Divine Liturgy and post it to their YouTube channelTo be notified when the video is posted, subscribe to com/HolyCrossMelkite.If you have any questions or requests please email Father François at: fbeyrouti@gmail.com
    • George in Birmingham, AL will livestream their Sunday Divine Liturgy at 11:30 AM EST/10:30 AM CST/9:30 AM MST/8:30 AM PST at saintgeorgeonline.org/liveThe recording will also be available after the livestream.

    If you would like to receive Holy Communion, please call Fr. Christopher to arrange a time on Sunday after the 10:00 a.m. Divine Liturgy.

    ______________________________________________________________________

    Events page:

    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    We are pleased to announce our

    2020 Summer Food Festival Schedule:

    Friday, August 7: 4 P.M. – 9 P.M.

    Saturday, August 8: 4 P.M. – 9 P.M.

    Sunday, August 9: 1 P.M. – 7 P.M.

    Take outs will also be available this year. Please see our Facebook page for details

    or call rectory at 570.343.6092.

    ____________________________________________________________________________

    VISIT our new DONATE page through paypal or instructions for AMAZON SMILE.   https://smile.amazon.com/ch/82-3958041

    See our facebook page for photos & current events
    Saint Joseph Melkite Greek-Catholic Church, Scranton
    For current events contact alternate email address at  stjosephscranton@gmail.com
    Church email address is    stjosephscranton@gmail.com
    See our “ABOUT” tab for: The First 100 years of St. Joseph Church used for our Centennial Celebration Oct. 1997.